• SSW By Category

  • Find a job with Indeed Jobs
  • April 2009
    S M T W T F S
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Recent Comments

Videos- Trophée Des Trois Pistes- Gujan Mestras, Men’s 10k

Here are a few videos from the Trophée Des Trois Pistes held in France-

2009-04-20-tpv

Report- Texas Road Rash Marathon- Mike Garvin (Live Breathe Skate)

Live Breathe Skate‘s Mike Garvin shared his thoughts & a detailed report from the Texas Road Rash Marathon; see Feel The Burn for more.

At any rate, I jumped on the back of their wheels and rounding the final corner before the line, I was cranking it as hard as I could to keep up with them, and not be eliminated on the first elimination lap.  Everything was going according to plan…I was 2nd to last (not by much), and at the line I jabbed my front foot forward to try seal the deal on my position.  Something went wrong with my balance though and my back wheel swiveled under my body.

You can see right off the start things had potential to be fast and furious. The start is at the top of a hill that dips down to a bridge and then comes up a hill again before turning into a serious of turns and upward hills on the back end of the course. It then slopes gently down again in a long straight line towards a sharp turn to the finish line (its a big loop, you do it 6 times).

2009-04-20-lbs

Report- Texas Road Rash- From Candy Wong

Candy Wong shared her perspective from this weekend’s Texas Road Rash in a two-part report;

I stood at the start line shoulder to shoulder with all the names I read often in race reports. The biggest question in my mind was “Would I remember how to race?”. For reasons that I cannot verbalize, starts have always been a very intuitive experience.

We woke up to more rain on Saturday morning and I had little hope to skate the elimination race. However, the weather god smiled upon us and everything dried up on time. It was hot and humid by the time we arrived at Dell Diamond. The elimination course was a bit like a rectangle.

Nicole Begg- Skins

Skins are one of my sponsors from New Zealand who provide me with compression clothing to aid my recovery. Skins™ BioAcceleration Technology™ has been developed over years of scientific research.

Read more from Nicole Begg- Skins.

2009-04-20-nb

Pictures- Closing Games- From Skating Sisters

Thanks to Skating Sisters, we can view pictures from the recent short track speed skating Closing Games.

2009-04-20-cg
Photo from Verbeekjes.tk

Inline Skater Gillis On Fast Track

These days, with many teenagers surfing online, Springfield’s Megan Gillis is more inclined to be skating inline.

Read more here; Inline skater Gillis on fast track.

2009-04-20-is

Results, Reports, & More- Texas Road Rash

The Texas Road Rash was held this past weekend. You can find complete results here.

The Inline Planet provided lots of live updates and reports of the elimination races and of the marathon-

4:58 pm: Morgan Williams wins the sprint; Tru-Rev’s Jim Bourgeois, second; Alex Fedak, who did much of the pulling, was third.

4:56 pm: Men’s pro master: Started with six skaters. Michael Garvin eliminated. Morgan Williams leading. Hernan Diaz eliminated.

8:35 am: The chase packs are breaking up now. Debbie Rice, who won last year’s Road Rash, is in one of them, about two minutes behind Botero … She’s in first place among the women. Candy Wong from Richmond Hill, Ontario is a couple minutes behind her.

You’ll be able to find reports & updates here. One of the newer reports was added by the Rob Bell- 2nd place finisher in the marathon. He reported on both the elimination race and the marathon-

I knew Jorge was the guy to watch. He made us hurt at Squiggy and he destroyed everyone in Tampa last week. He made a few hard attacks that really shred the field. I honestly don’t remember exactly where his final attack came, but I think I got stuck behind a gap in the field and wasn’t able to catch up. Our group worked together pretty well for a while and we were gaining on him, but once people started getting tired they stopped pulling through, and once they stopped pulling through our momentum was gone and his lead kept increasing.

Full Marathon Men
1- Jorge Botero
2- Rob Bell
3- Richard Cassube
4- Alex Fedak
5- Ryan Chrisler

Full Marathon Women
1- Debbie Rice
2- Candy Wong
3- Sue Scheer

Half Marathon Men
1- William Harrison
2- Sterling Reynolds
3- John Dickerson

Half Marathon Women
1- Renee Coffman
2- Michele Hardee
3- Lara Mallynn